Linux Mint

I must say I am pleased. I bought some hard drives and have another “emergency” box that I have, a Pentium III.  Linux Mint is much faster, and more spiffy than Windows.  Getting the hang of the package installations.   Boy I ain’t lookin’ back

I also have XP on the drive, in case I have to boot up the unmentionable Microsoft.  For me, a consumer type user who doesn’t work with it all day.. it’s the cat’s meow.  My activities are this blog, paying bills, and comparison shopping.  I edit audio and video files once in a while, and I use the USENET.  So BON FUCKIN’ VOYAGE to Microsoft!

With my Nvidia card, Linux Mint’s windows are animated when they pop up and wipe away.. it’s neat.  The big feature is the security aspect of it.. no more virus, trojan, etc paranoia!

Actually, I’d given up on Linux..until that last devastating crash.  Linux Mint addresses lots of problems that kept people on the Microsoft habit.   Having to mount the drives.  The single click launching of programs.   The hassle of installing programs.  Linux Mint’s installs are less painful than Microsoft.  As of yet there are not lots of garbage shareware programs you “must install” so you can get some other feature.

No broswer bars.. no bullshit pretty much. Man no hassle.  It’s out of the commercial realm.  For NOW..that is.  Maybe I am making progress.. .YES!  I want to be weaned from bullshit..and there is so much of it.

Right now.. I am using a favorite program of mine called iDaily Diary.  Using the WINE program it fires right up.  The Linux media player with Linux Mint is very good,  I like it better than Windows Media Player,  because of it’s excellent graphics show.  Very nice.

Windows XP is good.. don’t get me wrong.  But I like Linux’s security features.  You don’t have to worry as much.  For the poor man.. or someone who just uses the net and other basic features,  Linux is better.

3 thoughts on “Linux Mint

  1. Pingback: Roy Schestowitz (schestowitz) 's status on Monday, 05-Oct-09 15:58:48 UTC - Identi.ca
  2. Pingback: Links 05/10/2009: GoblinX 3.0 Chooses KDE 4, New Chumby Arrives | Boycott Novell
  3. Pingback: D weddle | BlankCrisis

Leave a comment