Lunch Truck Style Tacos Cheap

Boy after the last tacos I got from the Mexican stores.. man.. I decided to make my own!  They were on sale, but they don’t discard the old meat they don’t sell.  They keep it and boy.. I thought I got food poisoning!

SO…

I went to Sav A Lot.  They got 70count Corn tortillas for $1.79.  Ground beef is on sale at Price Chopper for $1.99 which is unbelievably cheap these days.

I have a gas stove.  So I chopped up some cilantro and lime.

THEN.. started the crumbled hamburger cooking over medium heat..and started cooking the corn tortillas on a separate burner, turned very low, about simmer.   I seasoned the hamburger with just some Seasoned Salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  I don’t even like the taco seasonings.

As the burger cooked, I started cooking the tortillas, one at a time. exactly 15 seconds each side timed with a kitchen timer, while I kept a eye on the hamburger.

* Note: the tortillas are cooked without a skillet, the tortilla resting on the burner grate..the fire turned low so it won’t set the tortilla on fire or burn it too bad.  You want a few little spots on it..but dont over cook.

I cooked the hamburger until JUST done.. just when the pink went away.. I turned off the skillet.

I like to whisk the tortilla quickly through the hamburger oil to flavor it,  but just whisk it through a little.  Just a tiny bit..so the oil slightly glistens.   Adds some flavor.

Then, filled the warmed tortillas.  They should have a few burnt spots on them, but they should still be very soft.. don’t cook them too long or they will get stiff.  You sort of stir fry the hamburger.  You don’t have to add oil to the skillet, the hamburger will make it’s own oil.

And…it was a very fine meal for very cheap.  It cost only about 30 cents total each taco.  I like cilantro on mine with squeezed lime.

Update: Just made these with some of the Uncle Steve’s Famous Pinto beans in the slow cooker, hotted up with Jalapeno and Hot sauce from across the street.  YUMMY!  The lime really enhances the tacos.. it’s great.  Boy what a tasty meal that was.

Leave a Reply

