Arepas

The San Antonio threw away a bunch of expired products, mostly boxed stuff.  In this lot was some P.A.N. Sweet Harina.   It is to make Arepas with.  This morning I gave it a try.  Tight on the budget, I am soaking beans right now.

I am surely glad that I did. It is a “sweet corn flour” but it don’t taste like cornbread.  You make it like little pancakes.

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup PAN Sweet Harina
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1 teaspoon veg oil
  • (I hit mine with 1/2 teaspoon sugar.. MY idea)

Mix this up with a fork.  It will mix up and look like Cream of Wheat with this mealy consistency.   Mix thoroughly,  then let sit 6 minutes.  Stirring once in a while.

Put about 2 tablespoons batter down per cake,  although I assume there is no hard and fast rule.  You sort of smooth and spread it out as it starts to cook,  I used the package instruction.

Cook about 3 min per side.  Mine were just done.  They will get sort of scorched, don’t worry *unless they are blackened that is.   Use your head.  It ain’t rocket science.

The taste of the Arepa is not like American foods.  It doesn’t taste like Corn bread.  It doesn’t taste like a pancake.  It has a pleasant, mealy texture.   Very fast to make,  in my case it was cheap (almost free).. I put butter on mine.

There is a corn taste, but it much milder than Corn Bread.  I liked them a lot and will make them again.  I used HALF the above recipe, and I’ve already had 2 little cakes, so I would wager it makes about 8 of these little cakes.  Good!  I like them better than pancakes.

Leave a Reply

