A Tasty Way to make CHicken Quarters- Slow cooker

I will write the instructions, and it is all here on this website.  Slow Cooker BBQ ChickenI used this for some chicken quarters that I got from the church.   In the USA,  hardly anyone  likes the dark meat.   You can get the chicken quarters cheap.  It is simple, but it is important to follow all the steps, and there are only maybe 3 real steps.

  • Crumple some Aluminum foil into several balls- 6-8
  • Place foil balls in Slow Cooker to raise Chicken above the Juice.
  • Rub chicken with BBQ rub powder of your choice.
  • Put the Chicken on top of the foil balls.
  • Cook on Low 6-8 hours, or as I did.. High 2 hours.  Low 4.5 hours.
  • The Chicken will be falling apart.. like boiled sort of..now here’s the trick
  • Gently take Chicken out,  put on broiler pan, brush BBQ sauce on both sides.
  • Broil for only 3-5 minutes per side, this will crisp up the skin, and the sauce.

This worked well, and I’ll bet it would work well for Buffalo chicken,  Teriyaki Chicken,  and many other types of flavored chicken.  The skin surprised me,  it really got crispy fast in the broiler.  It didn’t take long at all.  The skin was crispy, and the meat was slow-cooker moist and tender,  the BBQ sauce burnt on there nicely.

The only thing to watch is the chicken when you take it out of the crock pot.  It will want to fall apart.  I left the skin on mine, and I am glad I did.   I’ll use tongs next time.  Pieces fell off,  but I just wiped BBQ sauce on them, and cooked the pieces,  they were very good.

I guess you COULD put the BBQ sauce on the chicken while it was still cooking in the Slow Cooker, but I think the broiler method is better.   It is a worthwhile step,  as it crisps up quickly, and nicely.

The Foil balls keep the chicken above the juice, so it doesn’t disintegrate like every other time I tried to make chicken in the crock pot.  I was hungry,  and nearly omitted the broiler step,  I am glad I didn’t.

I’ve tried other ways to make these quarters, and they all  sucked.    When I baked them they were greasy.  Broiled them they got too black and burned.   With this method, you broil them just long enough.

 

 

Leave a Reply

