Best Salsa I’ve made yet- and it’s simple

Here is the best salsa I have made yet, and it is very simple.   Just 2 cans tomatoes,  1 green onion, 1/2 jalapeno,  and some cilantro.   About 1 small bunch,  which is about 1 cup chopped up.  Of course,  you can season it to your liking.  With just 1/2 jalapeno it is pretty hot.  I make it in my blender.  Love that blender.

  • 1 can whole tomatoes- drained.
  • 1 can rotel style tomatoes- drained.
  • 1 stalk green onion, diced up nice and fine.
  • 1/2 jalapeno, diced up fine.
  • 1 small bunch or 1 cup chopped up cilantro.

Put it in the blender and blend it up until it is nice and chopped up and mixed up.   Of course to your liking.  I tried some cumin added,  that tastes pretty good.  You could put lots of other stuff into it,  according to your liking.  I would not suggest putting Lime in.. it tastes funny to me.  I like it just as written,  but people have different ideas,  different tastes.  Remember,  you can always add spices, but you cannot take them out.  So use your taste buds.

For SOME reason,  the canned tomatoes taste better than fresh tomatoes.  I think it is because the canned tomatoes are peeled.

Update:  Tried it with 1 large whole tomato,  plus the 2 cans of tomatoes,  1 whole jalapeno,  and it’s still a winner.   Ya can’t hardly go wrong with this basic recipe.  It has the green onions- and I am a onion-hater,  but in this case,  it tastes good.   The blender really mixes it up good.   Blend away until it is to your liking.

 

Leave a Reply

