A Good Tasting, Cheap, Ground Turkey Meatloaf

Just got this one out of the oven.  I used two rolls of the Sav A Lot “Carolina Brand” ground turkey.   This is the cheapest ground turkey I know of.  I like Sav A Lot’s better than the Aldis.   That being said,  let’s see how it turned out.

I used this recipe from Allrecipes:

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf.

  • 2 Rolls Ground turkey (1.5lbs)
  • 1 cup Italian Breadcrumbs, or crackers.
  • 1 cup milk.
  • 2 eggs.
  • 8 ozs Colby Cheese cut into big cubes 1/2″
  • 1/2 Ketchup for topping
  • Salt and pepper.
  • Mix up the milk,  bread crumbs, eggs, and seasonings.
  • Add the turkey and mix it up, and form a loaf
  • Add the Cheese cubes.
  • Put into rectangular pan,  Top with Ketchup.

I added a tablespoon brown sugar to the Meatloaf mix.  I also added a generous amount of Old Bay seasoning,  a dash of seasoned salt, a dash of garlic powder.  I also kicked in some A-1 Steak Sauce.    Don’t get carried away with the Garlic powder.  I have done this.. it causes indigestion.

I like to push down the chunks of cheese, until they are covered by the meatloaf mixture.  The cheese will ooze and brown nicely.    Put a pan underneath to catch the oozing cheese.   The Turkey doesn’t make a lot of grease,  like beef does.

I also added another tablespoon brown sugar to the ketchup topping,  I mixed in some bacon bits.   On the top of the loaf,  I sprinkled bread crumbs in hopes of making a nice crust- it worked.

Cook for 1 hour,  until 165F or better.   See the Recipe link for more comments, instructions, and mods.

Turned out good.  Better than hamburger Meatloaf.  The chunks of cheese make nice pools of cheese.   The seasonings made it taste good.  I dislike onion, so I did not try it.  With the cheese, this is not super cheap to make.   On the other hand, it is cheaper than the sky-high Hamburger these days.

Later..BUT.. it tastes like crap reheated in the microwave.  I reheated it in my turbo cooker.  This is a stovetop pot like a Wok,  not the Infrared type.   Look it up.  It is a steam cooker actually.   The meatloaf tastes really good when reheated this way.

Ah.. I am eating good these days.  For cheap!

 

Leave a Reply

