Cheap, Good Tasting Stir Fry Sauce

Found on  FOOD.COM  Go there for more details.  Food.com is one of my favorite places to learn to cook.  This stir fry sauce it’s  really good stuff!  The only mod that I might make is the vinegar.  BUT.. the vinegar turns out very good.  I put lots of Red Pepper flakes in mine.
At first I thought “eh too much vinegar.”   It tastes good on stir fry just as written.  Mine is still watery,  but I haven’t tried heating it up yet,  I had some stir fry vegetables, but ran out of stir fry sauce oh my!  This recipe saved the day.. and it’s tasty stuff.  It’s a good starting point.

 

Makes 3 Cups
2 -3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (or a bit of fresh minced ginger)
2 cloves garlic, minced  (I used garlic powder)
1/2 cup soy sauce or 1/2 cup tamari soy sauce
1/4 cup cider vinegar or 1/4 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 cups vegetable, chicken, or beef  broth
2 Tblspoons Red Pepper flakes (my idea)
1/2 Teaspoon Five Spice Powder (my idea)

Directions:

1  Combine all ingredients in a large glass jar with a lid.
2  Screw lid on.
3 Shake well.
4 Can store in fridge up to 2 weeks.
5 Shake well before using.
6 To use sauce:  stir fry your vegetables and meat as desired, add appropriate amount of sauce, bring to a boil, boil for 1 minute or until slightly thickened.
7 Serve.
Leave a Reply

