That Blender

Man.. I love that thing!  Just made some salsa from this recipe a recipe I found on Pinterest..can’t find the link here is the recipe:

  • Homemade Salsa
    2 16oz. Cans Stewed Tomatoes (you can substitute 1/2 fresh if available)
    1 4oz. Can Chopped Green Chiles
    1 Clove Garlic, minced
    1 Jalapeño Pepper – chopped & seeded
    1 Bunch Cilantro – chopped (add as much as you’d like)
    4 Green Onions – chopped
    1 tsp. Sugar
    1 1/2 tsp Salt
    Pinch of Pepper
    Add all ingredients into a blender and blend to your preference.

This salsa is a trifle sweet,  due to the added sugar (which I probably doubled I just tossed some in there), and the canned tomatoes,  but it’s a winner.   It’s better than the ‘El Pollo Loco’ recipe I tried, but I cheated on that and used a lot of cilantro, and also lime.   I don’t recommend the lime.   It seemed to give it kind of a “fishy” taste.   It was horrible on my chicken actually.  I really like this one though,  am eating it now along with some tortilla chips YUMMY!

Next batch I will put in one can stewed tomatoes, and some fresh roma tomatoes.   The fresh tomatoes give salsa a unmistakable different flavor.   For years I never knew what it was.  I had thought it was avocado!

 

 

Leave a Reply

