Hopping up Old AGP computers

There are a few games that will run on my Sempron 2600. (A 1600mhz CpU).  This machine has the old AGP slot on it, which actually wasn’t too bad.  ATI Radeon kept supporting it after Nvidia quit.

Anyways.. I had a Nvidia 6200… it blew up.. so I got a NEW Nvidia 7300 (see discussion in prior article).  Well, the 7300 had this “infinite loop” glitch in it.. to make a long story short after 6 hours I couldn’t get it to install, so I threw in the towel.  Cost me $55.  I go on ebay and look at some used cards.  By jingo I got a Nvida FX5600 to use. Do NOT get the GeForce MX series, a lot of games won’t use them.

I got it to run..straight out of the box.   Had to download the drivers, but still it ran.  The games that it will run..that I have tested are:

  • Silent Hill 3
  • Silent Hill 2
  • Doom
  • Wolfenstein 3D
  • Panzer General
  • Panzer General II
  • Quake
  • Silent Service 3
  • Mafia 1
  • Total War Rome
  • Total War Shogun
  • Total War Medieval (just the first version)
  • Blitzkrieg II (fun)
  • Indigo Prophecy (with the 6200, I am not sure about the FX5600)

I am working on Indigo prophecy.  This ran on the 6200 and should run on this video card.  You can get the Barton Core CPU’s for AGP boards..old motherboards..and also more RAM.. but really….

It’s better off just buying a new motherboard with the Onboard video.  Most of the new onboard video is faster than these cards.  They are still holding their value, at least some of it on Ebay though.  I just got the NVidia FX5600 used for $11.

The thing is, I can even put a new Motherboard into this case, but I will have to buy new DDR2 or DDR3 ram..and that will cost me too much.

For example, at Newegg.com you can get a BIOSTAR COMBO6P1250 that comes with Onboard Nvidia GeForce 6150 and Sempron 2100 CPU for $65.   This board will run SIMS3, and other games.  That is not a bad price.  You’d have to add the RAM to it though.

Leave a Reply

