A Workin’ Man’s Boots

Exhaustion of the workin’ man.  I run 3100 miles this week and I am done in, just done in.  Few people realize what goes on behind the scenes as they watch the big trucks roll down the interstate.  The D.O.T. is screaming for safety on one hand, and the dispatchers, managers and customers boy they want that stuff like you are driving a rocket sled, like they are gonna have a BABY if the load of bottled water don’t get there on time.

There is plenty of adventure with construction, accidents, rain snow and heat.  I was down in Oklahoma week before last when 70mph winds came up along with baseball sized hail.  Will it blow over that 80,000lb truck? You betcha.  Like a toy.  My dispatcher screaming when I pull off the road to let it die down.  You get lost out there.  I got lost this week after coming from a little town called Red Boiling Springs, TN.   Had to take this load clear to Nashville just to weigh it, 60 miles away on little, unknown state highways.  Got last in Gallatin, TN and wound up on a small mountain.. in the middle of the night.  There is constructions ALL over, and I follow a sign marked “Truck Route”..then the fuckin’ signs stop coming.  I call the cops but those idiots can’t figure out where I am.  I take advice from the dispatcher and end up on the side of a mountain, going north on Old Tennessee Hwy 109.  Much of the driving is at night, and this is dangerous.  Almost all of my driving is at night, or should I say WAS as today I decide to hang it up.

I am runnin’ so hard I do not shower for a week… it’s either stop off for a shower, or sleep.  Local girls always want to go with me, but there is nothing romantic about it.  It’s a dog’s life.

The bottom line about running the road is:  for every 10 hours you log, there is as much as 10 MORE hours that are not logged, waiting for a load, adjusting things, finding trailers, fixing stuff and waiting through lines of construction.   The dispatchers, especially the fleet managers are rude and uncaring.

To hell with it.  I am going to find a job in town, and prospects are good.  People often want to run the road, drive a semi truck over the road.  But FEW realize what it is REALLY like.  It all “looks” so easy.  It compares with baling hay, with farm work.  It is similar, but not as hot.  Baling hay was the hardest work I ever did.  The hours are VERY long.. and the company people give you no respect at all.  At least with this company.

In my experience MOST of the driving is at night.  You’ll drive all night, sleep during the day, or it will rotate around.  One person called OTR drivers some of the most harassed people in the USA.   You have the D.O.T. out there, and there are many rules to follow.  You have the companies, and customers screaming because their load of toilet paper did not get there on time.  Even the drivers cuss one another.  I think they fight so much just to stay awake.

It depends upon the company, and what sort of activity is going on.  My company before this was a GREAT company.  That company folded, had to take me out of there screaming and kicking.  They were SO good to me.

Leave a Reply

